Articulāte

Volume 17

Article 7

2012

Front Matter

Follow this and additional works at: https://digitalcommons.denison.edu/articulate Part of the English Language and Literature Commons

Recommended Citation

(2012) "Front Matter," *Articulāte*: Vol. 17, Article 7. Available at: https://digitalcommons.denison.edu/articulate/vol17/iss1/7

This Front Matter is brought to you for free and open access by the English at Denison Digital Commons. It has been accepted for inclusion in Articulāte by an authorized editor of Denison Digital Commons.

Articulate

A Journal of Literary and Cultural Criticism

*

Spring 2012 Volume XVII

Editorial Policy:

Articulāte is published in the spring semester of each academic year and features student essays of literary and cultural criticism. *Articulāte* will consider papers written by Denison undergraduates in any area of literary and cultural criticism and from any department or discipline.

Faculty members are encouraged to recommend particularly strong essays from their classes for publication in *Articulāte*. As a special feature, *Articulāte* publishes each year's winner of the Robert T. Wilson Award for Scholarly Writing.

Call for Papers:

Submissions will be accepted throughout the academic year and should combine research with original insight. Submissions should not exceed fifteen typed, double-spaced pages, although essays of greater length, which are of exceptionally high quality, will be considered for publication. Please use MLA documentation.

Submissions for the 2011-2012 academic year may be submitted electronically to humphr k@denison.edu or articulate@denison.edu. Please submit your essay with cover sheet including your name and Slayter box. The journal accepts submissions at any time during the academic year.

Essays may also be submitted to:

Articulāte Editors Department of English

Editors-in-Chief: Kim Humphrey- Sr. Editor Courtney Vinopal - Jr. Editor

Editorial Board:

Meghan Callahan Amy Yoder Samantha Driver Catherine Thompson

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Sylvia Brown Department of English

Cover Art by: Lindsey Clark '15

Table of Contents

*

Winners of the 2010 Robert T. Wilson Award for Scholarly
Writing:
Brokeback Mountain and the White Male5
Meghan Callahan '14
The Rippers of fin de siècle London: Depolarizing the Urban
Landscape in Stevenson's Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde and Marsh's
The Beetle
Daniel Persia '14

Misery and Company: Sigmund Freud's Presence in Toni Morrison's *Beloved*......42 *Jonathan Halper* '14

Naming the Ghost: Locating Identity in the Works of Toni Morrison......48 *Maighdlin Reagan '12*